State of Our State 2019 Promo Art

2019 State of Our State
November 25, 2019

Rural Arizona Now

Monday, November 25, 2019
Registration and networking: 9:30 a.m.
Program: 10 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Phoenix Airport Marriott
1101 N. 44th St., Phoenix, AZ 85008

Click here to register as an individual.

For information about table sponsorship opportunities: or 602-496-0588.

  • Rural Arizona leaders will share what makes their communities thrive, the solutions that will make them even better and why it matters to you. Speakers will address state and local governance, resource allocation, our changing electorate and the intersection of rural and urban economies.
  • Morrison Institute experts will release exclusive statewide polling data and bust myths about rural Arizona.
  • ASU President Michael Crow will offer insight.


April 16, 2019
Arizona Heritage Center
Who are our neighbors in need? Homelessness and Affordable Housing in Our Community
Melissa Kovacs, Ph.D., founder of FirstEval, LLC and associate director for research at Morrison Institute for Public Policy at Arizona State University and Joanna Lucio, Ph.D., associate dean of Academic Affairs and an associate professor at Arizona State University in a presentation and discussion on who is in need of housing in the greater Phoenix community.

February 21, 2019
Cave Creek Museum and Desert Foothills Land Trust host:
AZ H2O presented by Sarah Porter
A discussion on the current water issues with expert Sarah Porter, director of the Kyl Center for Water Policy at Arizona State University’s Morrison Institute for Public Policy. The Kyl Center promotes research, analysis, collaboration and open dialogue to build consensus in support of sound water stewardship solutions for Arizona and the West. Ms. Porter also serves as deputy director of Future H2O, a President’s office initiative to focus ASU’s water expertise on solving current world water challenges.

January 16, 2019
CPLC Presents: The State of the Latino Vote
A panel discussion by national leaders and experts in civic engagement. The organizations will provide their analysis of the midterm elections.
Featured Panelists
• Dorian Caal, Director of Civic Engagement Research, NALEO Educational Fund
• Ben Monterroso, National Executive Director & Co-Founder, Mi Familia Vota
• Joseph Garcia, Director of Latino Public Policy Center, Morrison Institute for Public Policy, Arizona State University
• Steven Ochoa, National Redistricting Coordinator, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF)

November 19, 2018
2018 State of Our State Conference
See video from the event