Arizona Capitol Times 2017 Leaders of the Year

The Arizona Capitol Times recognized U.S. Sen. John McCain, along with more than two dozen individuals and groups, for advancing public policy in ways that positively affect the lives of Arizonans.

Perseverance, grit, courage, experience, wisdom, a heart of service. These are just some of the words that describe winners of this year’s Arizona Capitol Times Leaders of the Year. Many of them have toiled in the public policy arena for years or are experts in their fields who have made significant contributions to the policy debates that have shaped Arizona’s government.

Congratulations to all the winners!


Government –
ASU Morrison Institute for Public Policy

So, you just got elected as a legislator. Now what? That is the question that the ASU Morrison Institute for Public Policy attempts to answer through its Arizona Legislative Academy, which was launched earlier this year. According to the Morrison Institute, it is the first university-based program in the country that seeks to prepare lawmakers about the legislative process and the complex issues, such as water and the budget, they will be considering. The institute, which houses the Kyl Center for Water Policy, the Latino Public Policy Center and the Legislative Academy, and which regularly publishes research and analysis on public policies, is celebrating its 35th year.